Search This Blog

Thursday, September 22, 2011

Girls - 'Father, Son, Holy Ghost'

True Panther; 2011
Our Take - 9.3

The beauty of the band Girls lies in the fact that they sound ultra-familiar while remaining incredibly fresh.  Although the band clearly wears their influences on their sleeves they are constantly introducing new elements into traditional pop tunes.  Girls haven't had a misstep yet with knockout debut album, Album, and a monster of a follow-up EP, Broken Dreams Club, but with Father, Son, Holy Ghost the band take things even farther.  The album is more than just a homage to classic pop, it has a hell of a personality due to the distinctive persona that is frontman Christopher Owens.  Each song on the record for lack of a better descriptor is filled with intimate feeling-- as if he has taken every emotion he has ever had and forced them into song.  When the crescendo hits on album highlight "Vomit", you can't help but feel it just as much as he does.

Tracklist: Father, Son, Holy Ghost

1. Honey Bunny
2. Alex
3. Die
4. Saying I Love you
5. My Ma
6. Vomit
7. Just A Song
8. Magic
9. Forgiveness
10. Love Like A River
11. Jamie Marie