Search This Blog

Tuesday, August 30, 2011

Catching Up All At Once

--Mysterious R&B slow-jammer and Drake co-signee The Weeknd have put out their second mixtape of 2011.  Download them both for free here.  A lot of people are excited about both mixtapes, are you?  Listen to the title track from Thursday below.

--It has been over a year since we have heard anything new from Surfer Blood, but I'm glad they're back.  Here's a first listen from their forthcoming four track EP, which will be released October 25th via Kanine Records.  Check out the cover art for the EP below and click here to check out the song "Miranda" over at Soundcloud.

New Surfer Blood: "Miranda"

--3VOOR12 (don't ask me what it means) is a great website for streaming albums before they come out.  If you're too excited to wait any longer, check streams of new discs from The Drums, The Rapture, and Red Hot Chili Peppers now!  Also featured on the site are streams of the latest releases from Beirut, Dirty Beaches, Pure X, Sun Araw, Male Bonding, Blood Orange, The War On Drugs, Moonface, Fruit Bats, and more.  Hell of a site, head there by clicking this link.

-- San Francisco based Girls are amped to release their second full length and follow up to 2010's spectacular Broken Dreams Club EP.  Their discography to this point has been incredible and their third release shouldn't dissapoint.  Father, Son, Holy Ghost will be released September 13th via True Panther Sounds.  Listen to two tracks below, first single "Vomit", and first track "Honey Bunny".


-- St. Vincent will release her third effort, Strange Mercy, on September 13th via 4AD.  Check out two cuts from the record below.  The second video for the song, Cruel, has a pretty interesting take on domesticity.  Be sure to check it out.

Friday, August 19, 2011

Happy Friday

Couldn't wait another month to put another playlist out. Here's a nice Friday after work or school mix.

01)Neon Indian - Sleep Paralysist
02)Starfucker - Medicene
03)Tyler, the Creator - Analog
04)Toro y Moi - Still Sound
05)M83 - Midnight City
06)Girls - Carolina
07)Belle & Sebastian - Come on Sister
08)Washed Out - Echoes
09)Spoon - Out Go the Lights
10)The Strokes - Between Love & Hate
11)Fleet Foxes - Blue Spotted Tail
12)Wavves - Post Acid
13)The Horrors - Moving Further Away
14)Red Hot Chili Peppers - The Adventures of Raindance Maggie
15)Klaxons - Golden Skans
16)Shabazz Palaces - Are You Can You Were You(Felt)
17)Junior Boys - Banana Ripple
18)Death Cab for Cutie - Stay Young Go Dancing
19)Arctic Monkeys - All My Own Stunts
20)The Rapture - How Deep Is Your Love?
21)Animal Collective - What Would I Want?

I do not the rights to any of the track above. Thanks for listening.

Friday, August 12, 2011

Hot Hot Hot: Ebbz and Flowzzzz August 2011 Playlist

(UPDATE: The first track doesn't work properly. Press the next button on the playlist and enjoy)

There was a rumor in Seville yesterday that the temperature peaked at 53 degrees Celsius (in the sun of course).  While that may not totally be true, it is fucking hot over here.  Here are some songs that are helping me get through this unusually warm summer.

I do realize that back home fall is just around the corner, so I tried to add a little bit of "leaves turning" into the mix.  Check it out and let me know what you think. 

01) Toro y Moi - Blessa
02) Yacht - Utopia & Dystopia (combined tracks)
03) Cults - Go Outside
04) The Throne (Jay-Z and Kanye West) - Otis
05) The Morning Benders - Last Night (The Strokes Remix)
06) Four Tet - Separator (Radiohead Remix)
07) Best Coast - Our Deal
08) Someone Still Loves You Boris Yeltsin - Think I Wanna Die
09) Yuck - Stutter
10) Starfucker - Girls Just Want to Have Fun
11) Handsome Furs - What About Us
12) Portugal. The Man - Got It All (This Can't Be Living Now)
13) of Montreal - An Eluardian Instance
14) Neon Indian - Polish Girl
15) The Drums - Money
16) Chromeo - Hot Mess
17) Baths - Aminals
18) Crosses - This Is A Trick
19) The Antlers - Corsicana
20) Julian Cassablancas - I'll Try Anything Once

I do not own the rights to any of the tracks played above.

Wednesday, August 3, 2011

New Neon Indian - Era Extraña

On September 13th chillwave pioneer Neon Indian will release his sophomore disc, Era Extraña.  The record will come out on his own Static Tongues imprint through Mom + Pop Music in North America.  If you're feeling ambitious, preorder the album now over at Alan Palomo's website, and if you're feeling especially ambitious order the delux package which includes a cd, a tshirt, a 12" vinyl, a poster, and a... custom synth?  That's right a custom synth.  Here is what Palomo has to say about the synth and if you want to hear a sample you can listen below via Soundcloud.

"We teamed up with our brethren homies in Austin, Bleep Labs, to proudly bring you the PAL 198X. It's a triple triangle-wave oscillator noisemaking device with interchangeable controls for maximal sonic contortion. You can attach knobs, light-reactive photocells, and a variety of other devices for semi-modular capabilities. It can interact with a variety of objects around your house whether electronic in nature or not. It can even interact with your pet. It does not make the same sound twice. Basically, I want you to hack this fucking thing."

PAL198X by Dr. Bleep

 The cover art is above and the tracklist and two songs from the disc are below.  Enjoy.
Era Extraña:

01 Heart: Attack
02 Polish Girl
03 Blindside Kiss
04 Hex Girlfriend
05 Heart: Decay
06 Fall Out
07 Era Extraña
08 Halogen (I Could Be a Shadow)
09 Future Sick
10 Suns Irrupt
11 Heart: Release